Breakfast · Lunch

Sunday night

What the heck is it about being snowed in and snacking!?

The day started out well, with great oatmeal (I cooked 1/2 a cup of oats with 1/2 a cup of water, 1/2 a cup of milk, 1 teaspoon of vanilla and a small pinch of salt) and then at the end added a tiny bit of brown sugar, 1/2  a teaspoon of Teddy (just wanted that flavor!), cinnamon and ground flax seed – yum!  I also enjoyed a homemade cappuccino (thanks to Ben!) and some coffee.

By the afternoon, I was feeling some serious snack cravings coming on… was it possibly because we were watching football? Was it because we had been out shoveling and playing in the snow – and thus burned some calories? (We did make a great snowman and had a great snow ball fight along with making progress in cleaning off the cars, driveway and sidewalks!) I am not sure.

But I can tell you that Ben and I snacked on Sun Chips and Munchies (seriously!?) today – and loved them!

For my actual lunch, I had a turkey sandwich on Arnold’s with spinach and a slice of low fat American cheese, and some baby carrots.

At around 8:30 tonight I made an ice cream shake with low fat Friendly’s ice cream, skim milk and half a scoop of protein powder. That was the best dinner / dessert I have enjoyed in a lot time!!  The protein powder added some extra power to keep me perfectly full for the rest of the night, which was very nice!

I cannot believe our snowy weekend is almost over.  This makes me very sad. 😦 I am not looking forward to having to leave the house and go to work tomorrow… which also makes me wonder if something is wrong with me.

I had Friday off (but was not snowed in until later in the day)… Saturday was actually a productive and busy day, even with the snow, and today I had a good amount of time outdoors. So I guess I can say that I had a busy weekend and hopefully it is not too strange that I would wish for the weekend to be even longer!

On Saturday Ben and I went out even though it was still snowing and the roads were pretty bad. For breakfast I had a banana. I thought we were going out for a big brunch, so I did not make oatmeal for breakfast.

Oddly enough, the brunch never came about – but eventually I had a slice of cheese pizza at Upper Crust and Ben and I saw Slum Dog Millionaire at Coolidge Corner theater at around 4:15 yesterday. What a great movie – I recommend it to everyone (although there are definitely some scary moments during the movie).  We also did some shopping at Brookline Booksmith (yay for holiday gift certificates!) where I bought a few books.

Here is what I spent some of the weekend reading:

My Real Simple magazine came just in time for the snow storm – and I am also enjoying In Defense of Food… and will write more about it when I get further into it.

Another thing that came in the mail this weekend was super exciting to me – my first full jar of Barney Butter!! Yes!

When I first started my blog, I wrote to the folks at Barney Butter to see if I could get a sample of their amazing almond butter to try for myself. I had read rave reviews of BB from some of my other favorite bloggers – and wanted to try it for myself.  I have to say, not only do I love Barney Butter – but I love the company!

The other day when I was ordering Barney Butter for me, and for a couple of holiday gifts, I had a question regarding my order – so I called the number on the website…. I was so shocked when Jennifer Barney (the founder of BB) answered the phone that it took me a minute to remember my question! She was so helpful (obviously) and nice – it just made my experience with Barney Butter even better.

This almond butter is like nothing else I have tried. I love it! I also love the fact that it comes in jars and in convienet travel, individual sizes that are 90 calories each, with three grams of protein. 🙂

Well, I am sorry my bloggies – but I am going to have to sign off for tonight. It is very late – and my old computer is running very slowly – it’s been hard for me to edit the blog entry tonight – as I am sure you will be able to tell!  Sometimes I hate computer updates – even for Macs!

Hope you all have a great Monday and I’ll catch you sometime tomorrow!

🙂

2 thoughts on “Sunday night

  1. Hey Nlo! Yes, you should upgrade. If you don’t like almond butter – I would recommend Teddy. It is sooo good! Next time you come to visit, you can try my Barney Butter and see if you like it. I think you will!!

Leave a comment